10 Minutes of My Day

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by (Trumpet)(2009), Nov 25, 2007.

1. (Trumpet)(2009)

(Trumpet)(2009) New Friend

Jan 1, 2007
    Let`s just say, hypothetically speaking of course, that I am an exchange student in Japan right now. Hypothetically speaking, I have very little free time, but Trumpet is still important to me. Hypothetically speaking, I haven`t picked up the horn more then twice in the 3 months I have been here, but desiring to "get back in shape" so to speak, I request advice on, if I only have 10 minutes a day with my Trumpet, how to most effectively spend those 10 minutes. Any suggestions, (or sarcasm, they seem to be lacking it here in Japan;)), would be greatly appreciated.

ありがとう!Marg

P.S. As for playing in a band, I am doing Japanese fencing and do not have time to be in the school band. I may change this in a few months, but for now, I`m on my own.

P.S.S.
    None of this was hypothetical.

2. robmassive

robmassive New Friend

Sep 12, 2007
    My advise, if it counts, is to try and make just a little bit more time for your trumpet playing; that is, if you are serious about it...
    Maybe stay up half an hour later, playing into a pillow? (though a silent brass system might be better...)
    In ten minutes your could do the first excersize from the clark studies, very useful. Or you could do Stamp no. 1. Both of these are good for lip conditioning, and just staying in shape.
    Keep practising,
    Rob.

3. omelet

omelet Pianissimo User

Oct 13, 2007
    charleston, sc
    i'm confused on how you could only have 10 minutes per day free time, that would be horrible

if so, you must make sacrifice on one thing or another and it seems the trumpet is less important than someting else. i dont think 10 minutes doing anything on the trumpet will get you back in shape, but better than nothing of course

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany