2 Questions

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by tpter1, Mar 16, 2005.

1. tpter1

tpter1 Forte User

Jan 12, 2005
    Northern New York
    Manny- I have 2 questions for you about some student players.

The first, not my student, but the son of one of the 5th grade teachers (he does study privately with a trumpet professor from the college nearby) is having major issues with braces. He just got the bottoms on, and his mother tells me that his lip is getting cut up pretty badly (she compared it to hamburger). He just switched to a 10 1/2c under his teacher's advice. He is doing the Goedicke for NYS solo evaluation festival, and can almost get the A, but the Bb is almost out of the question, and he used to have a C no problem. My hunch is that he should not be playing the festival this year, but that is not my decision. Is there anything he can do? (He is already using wax.)

The second does relate to one of mine (10th grade). I've been working for a few years to no avail to help one of my students overcome a bizarre embouchre. She has a beautiful sound, but it's getting in the way of her upper register, and will soon make it impossible for her to progress. She has reached level V (which includes pieces like Maid of the Mist, which she is working on, and Turrin Caprice) (and we DO use Arban alot...she owns one and has been in it since 8th grade) with it, but to go on is going to demand that she has a solid Bb at least, which really means a C. (She can get it on occasion, but no reliably, now). The problem is apparently a rolled in bottom lip, causing air pockets to develop in her bottom lip. She also gets them in the upper lip, and it becomes more pronounced as she ascends above the staff. Whe I offered her a 1c, she tried it, and has seen an increase in her range (she was on a 5c). As you can guess, it is also wreaking havoc on her endurance, causing her to press when fatigue sets in. (I can see tthe little white ring appear when she stops playing). What c