2nd Anniversary of Playing Trumpet: What was your progress like after 2 years?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by alexbegins24, Dec 9, 2009.

1. alexbegins24

alexbegins24 New Friend

May 28, 2008
    Hello Everyone,

Now, to begin with I know there is not one learning curve with regard to anything including trumpet but I would like to know where people were after 2 years of playing trumpet. I have been practicing like crazy for 2 years on top of taking private lessons when I can afford them (and they do help immensely). I can play in Arban's, and the 2nd Getchell book and I am starting work on the Haydn and Hummel trumpet concerto's although they are written a whole fourth below what they are normally. My range is still not up to a comfortable high c but I am being patient. I would just like to gauge where I am in relation to other learners and experienced players. Your input would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

Alex
    Missoula, MT. -5 F. lol

2. RB-R37297

RB-R37297 Pianissimo User

Mar 12, 2009
    Winnipeg, Manitoba
    That sounds pretty darn good for only your second year. As I recall, when I was in 8th grade, I could pull consistent Gs on top of the staff, but nothing higher. Endurance was a problem. So was sound. Intonation pretty much didn't exist for me yet. I had no trumpet lessons.

From what I hear, it sounds like you're really on the right track. But if you honestly want my input, don't overemphasize keeping up with the best players if it hurts your outlook. Just keep rolling along.

-Jon, from Winnipeg, Canada. -6 F. I feel your pain.

3. BenH

BenH Pianissimo User

Oct 14, 2008
    UK
    Sounds similar to me. I'm just about at my 2 year anniversary. I have a high c 60-70% of the time I want it (higher occasionally), and now play in a funk band as well as playing first trumpet in a community orchestra. My teacher doesn't have me working from Arbans, but we use certain exercises from it.

4. Pedal C

Pedal C Mezzo Forte User