3rd Horn Recommendations

Discussion in 'Horns' started by rwawsw, Dec 4, 2016.

1. rwawsw

rwawsw New Friend

Jan 5, 2015
    Central Oregon
    I am a come back player. Let go for 35 years and for what ever reason decided to play again. Best decision I have made recently!

I am not a professional player and part (big part) of my motivation is to collect as I consider trumpets to be pieces of art.

Currently have:

Reynolds Medalist - the horn I bought in a thrift store upon my return and I will keep it (Olds production) - best $125 I have ever spent
    King Silver Flair 1055T - 1973 Eastlake production - I have had some minor work done on it and its incredible - I will keep it for life

Looking to add to the collection...working on my jazz technique and improvisation. cant afford a Martin Committee (have 2 sons in College) but I would like to add to the collection. Enjoy scouring the classifieds and if I could narrow the search, I may find what something at a reasonable cost.

Suggestions appreciated!

2. J. Jericho

J. Jericho Fortissimo User

Mar 16, 2011
    What do you consider a reasonable cost?

What about a flugelhorn?

3. larry huene

larry huene Pianissimo User

Jan 13, 2008
    Chicago
    Lots of interesting and nice playing Cornets out there.
    I just picked up a nice one and other than a good cleaning, oil the
    valves, grease what needs to be greased I'm a happy man.
    You will need cornet mouthpieces though.

4. Gendreauj

Gendreauj Piano User

Aug 26, 2013
    Metro-Detroit
    What is your price range? Are you looking at vintage professional trumpets or modern trumpets ? Have you looked at a Conn 28 A cornet?

Martin Troubadour trumpet currently listed on ebay. It is a pea shooter from the 30s with art deco styling.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/VINTAGE-MAR...983153?hash=item2cb6981cb1:g:bJgAAOSwPCVYASYY[/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE]

Conn 22 B trumpet with beautiful engraving currently listed on ebay: