a little help please

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpettom, Sep 25, 2008.

1. trumpettom

trumpettom New Friend

Sep 25, 2008
    Hi guys, i was wondering if i could get a little help here and advice here.

Last week i was suddenly moved up into the orchestra section at my local music society, having only been in the top wind band for a week, and i've been given a piece to learn which is written in E. I'm sat here trying to work out what i will be playing, but i'm rather unsure :/. Is it the case that i just transpose up 6 semi-tones, which would make the key signature F# from C? or should i just not worry about that and move all the notes up 6 semitones. :shock:

obviously this is my first time moved up there so any advice on what differs from a wind band would also be appreciated.

also wondering why the music publishers can't just print it all transposed for you, would be alot easier!

2. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008
    Not sure what the difference between these two are:

3. trumpettom

trumpettom New Friend

Sep 25, 2008
    reading that back, i realise it is the same thing, however, i am supposed to transpose it up 6 semi-tones right? because i got that off an internet chart and i'm not sure if its right, as it also showd transposing it down 6 semi-tones was viable as well. But convention is to transpose it up right?

Please help, i got rehersal tomorrow so really need to write down the notes.

4. Sofus

Sofus Forte User

Jul 26, 2008
    OK. I get it!

UP must be right, if the C you transpose up from is the one BELOW the E.

5. BrassOnLine

BrassOnLine Piano User

Nov 22, 2007
    Spain
    Bordogni's transposition method is a must in the USA... There are lots of threads on this matter...

6. trumpetnick

trumpetnick Fortissimo User

Nov 16, 2005
    Vidin, Bulgaria
    I know of three types of transposing technique/conception: