A Man Yelled at Me at the Beach Today for Practicing

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by kornork, Oct 26, 2009.

1. kornork

kornork New Friend

Oct 26, 2009
    I just started playing trumpet 2 months ago. Out of consideration to my neighbors and general embarrassment, I've been going to a public park at the beach during lunch to practice. I own a mute, but enjoy the sound much more playing without one.

Today during practice a man came up to me, furious, cussing and calling me an inconsiderate prick for bothering him.

Had this man come to me in a polite way, I would have tried to find somewhere else to play.

As it is, I don't want to leave just because someone yells at me. I'm pretty sure it's legal to play the trumpet in a public park at noon, but I'm not sure of the local laws.

Has anyone else encountered this kind of situation?

2. Ichierzen

Ichierzen Pianissimo User

Sep 22, 2007
    I've done it while waiting for a bus in the days before I bought a car, play quietly and try to avoid people and don't play down-wind I guess would be my only suggestions lol it should be legal as long as you're not asking for donations (but you're just practicing, so if people give you money, I'd say that's cool :cool:).

Don't worry about him, if he continues to be there while you practice, just enjoy the sun until he leaves, that'd be my suggestion. Sometimes it's easier to just wait, than fight a stubborn mule.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    My landladies adult daughter did a similar thing many years ago. She yelled at my second son for practicing (my rent contract has a "practice clause"). I explained to her that NO ONE yells at my kids except me, she ran to her mother crying and now we have an additional room in the cellar - at no extra cost.

Turn desasters into assets. Next time ask what that dudes favorite tune is.

4. JoeBlack

JoeBlack Pianissimo User

Oct 12, 2009
    Northern Ontario