A Matter of Potential and Choosing?

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by trickg, Oct 31, 2005.

1. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    I decided to drop this in the lounge since it isn't completely about trumpet playing.

I have mentioned on numerous occastions that I play drums - I started playing regularly about two years ago so that I could be the drummer for a contemporary church Worship band. While I'm not currently drumming in that role, I have continued to work at my craft as a drummer, and have strived to learn more so that I could do and play more things. This last weekend, I had a MAJOR breakthrough in limb interdependence and something clicked for me that has opened a floodgate of creative possibilities in my drumming.

Back to the trumpet, I have played trumpet for over 24 years and while I have always managed to do fairly well for myself, I have always had certain limitations toward playing and have felt on a couple of occasions that I was bumping my head on the ceiling of my potential as a trumpet player, and to me, that ceiling was just not as high as I wanted to go.

At this point, at age 35 and I'm an old dog trying to learn new tricks, but I am learning them and I am beginning to wonder if my potential as a drummer isn't in fact greater than my potential as a trumpet player. I just don't see any big limiting factors with drumming like I do with trumpet. (range, endurance, accuracy, etc) On top of this is that drums are much more forgiving if you are only going to do them part time. At this point I can take a pretty large break off of the kit and come back to it with no problems. If I do that with trumpet, I come back to all kinds of problems.

All of this comes with the question of whether or not I should at some point make the decision to put the horn down for good, and put my time and energy into drumming alone, rather than split that time between the two.

Thoughts?

2. tpter1

tpter1 Forte User

Jan 12, 2005