A personal question: What do you do when...?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by crowmadic, Feb 9, 2007.

1. crowmadic

crowmadic Mezzo Piano User

Oct 3, 2006
    This is a question about your personal equipment (mouthpieces & trumpets only). What do/would you do if you had a 3-5 piece Combo gig for one week where they requested, or you chose to have a dark/mello sound throughout the gig, and the following week had a Latin gig where you were lead trumpet with plenty of "screechers!" throughout the gig? I'm not a professional player, and don't expect to be for a while. There are a lot of better players on TM than I am, and I"m hoping you'll respond to my question without wise cracks like, "Find someone else to play the gigs, or pray, etc." (although I do my share of wisecracking). I'd use classical trumpet pieces for examples but I don't know many. If there's something you do to get your embouchure in shape for such a challenge in the short interval of time I'd like to know........just trying to learn what the pros. do............thanks, tom

2. PH

PH Mezzo Piano User

Dec 2, 2003
    Bloomington, Indiana

Last edited: May 21, 2007
  3. Fluffy615

Fluffy615 Piano User

Nov 30, 2006
    New Jersey
    Tom,
    I would agree with PH. I do everything on my usual mouthpiece and horn. I don't switch at all. It takes a lot of listening and some experience to adapt your sound to fit different styles, and you probably will develop that quality as you progress. There are equiptment changes that you can make. Some players will use different horns for different styles. If you own one horn, then a mouthpiece change could help. The "classical" piece that you mentioned would be good for the combo gig, and something with a shallower cup and different backbore might help with the latin gig. Nothing is a sure thing, but these might help a little.
    Bob

4. Alex Yates

Alex Yates Forte User

Aug 11, 2005
    Atlanta, GA
    Exactamundo! :thumbsup:

5. Brekelefuw