A really simple exercise that I can't seem to figure out: lip slurs

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Freaks, Aug 22, 2010.

1. Freaks

Freaks New Friend

May 24, 2009
    I'm really hoping to find some help here on this forum, because I can't seem to figure out how to play clean lip slurs. Especially a slur going up. Sure, I can PLAY them, but I always get the "Sliding" sound. You know: "Dah-fwee" as opposed to a nice clean "Dah-ee." I'm doing a lot of work to focus on my air stream, and one of my brass instructors a few weeks ago says whistling can help. Still to no avail can I do a simple C to E lip slur without sliding. Let alone anything higher than that.

I have been playing trumpet for 6 years but I'm really trying to bring my playing to the next level,a nd now more than ever it seems for some reason I need to be able to lip slur cleanly. Any advice on how to work into seeing some results?

2. Pete Anderson

Pete Anderson Pianissimo User

Feb 27, 2008
    How much time do you spend on lip slurs every day? Do a 15-minute chunk of lip slurs in the morning, and 15 minute chunk of them at night, and I would be surprised if you still had this problem after a few months.

A random slurring tip - often, for big gaps, it helps to (very) lightly articulate the note you're slurring to. I mean say you're slurring from low C to 4th space E, it's nigh impossible to do without hitting any of the partials. But if you just very gently legato tongue the note you're slurring to it will sound great and clean and nobody will be the wiser if you do it properly.

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Try using more air, and also consciously moving up your tongue when slurring can help. Don't think about it too much - just hearing the notes is the most helpful thing I've seen

4. bigtiny

bigtiny Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2005
    Lip slurs are about air -- and it sounds like you understand that concept.

Here are some suggestions for practicing lip slurs: