A talent for trumpet!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet-Golfer, Aug 3, 2010.

1. Trumpet-Golfer

Trumpet-Golfer Pianissimo User

Dec 9, 2008
    Liverpool, England
    I started playing trumpet when I was 55 years old (I’m 59 now) I’ve made some progress during the last 4 ½ years due (IMHO) to sticking at it through thick & thin.
    However I’ve always thought that as in most walks of life some have an edge on others, including playing musical instruments.
    A week last Sunday we had a family get together to celebrate what would have been my Father’s 100th Birthday. After visiting the grave we had a good meal and then some returned to my place to carry on the celebration.
    Five minutes into a Footie(soccer) kick about, in the garden with two of my nephews and their young boys I cried off (frankly I was shattered) and decided to have a tootle.
    My nephews and their sons came into the kitchen (where I was practising) for refreshments sometime later, they all wanted to have a blow.
    I explained the basics in terms of mouthpiece position, finishing with just say Tah as you blow. My nephews (30 & 27 yrs) tried first and after making initial sounds both almost turned blue in the face trying to play higher & louder! Their eldest sons did OK (aged 10 & 8). However the youngest (7) was impressive. He played some good sounding notes with what looked like no effort at all, and got a round of applause from us all. They soon got bored and continued with the footie! I guess they want to be the next Steven Gerrard or Fernando Torres rather that Arturo Sandoval or Chris Botti.

2. RichJ

RichJ Piano User

Jan 16, 2008
    Northern Virginia
    I remember letting a good friend in high school blow my trumpet. I gave him the usual 5 minutes of explanation on embouchure and taking a big breath and he hit a high C loudly almost immediately. All of his notes were at the third space C or higher partials. Of course he just plays keyboards...

3. turtlejimmy