A tuba player learning trumpet. Some questions.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Funcoot, May 14, 2009.

1. Funcoot

Funcoot New Friend

May 14, 2009
    Hey guys, I'm new to this forums and have some questions. Prepare for a big post! All answers are greatly appreciated!

I'm pretty new to the whole music scene. I've been playing tuba since mid February and have been getting better ever since. I can play a few scales, chorales and even a few songs.

I practice almost every day at school, cause I get some free time from my coach in P.E. (I am physically fit and dress out in gym, so the coach really doesn't mind me going to the band room). I am continuing to progress, and my real goal right now in my tuba playing abilities is to work on improving my articulation.

I know that now would be one of the worst times learning trumpet (since I am still new to tuba), but I wouldn't make it a priority, especially when things in band get busy, I really want to peruse trumpet as hobby more than anything. I wouldn't mind joining a ska band in the future, cause I really have a passion for the music, but that's a long time down the road.

I am good friends with the section leader, and he said he would be glad to give me some lessons. He let me try out his trumpet today, and I really enjoyed it. So now that the little bio/story is over, here comes the questions.

Would learning the trumpet help me out with my tuba playing as well, or my overall musicianship?

Will my tuba embouchure probably suffer, even if I play it a lot more than trumpet? Will my trumpet embouchure suffer from that?

Since I am a tuba player, I'm of course used to a pretty big mouthpiece. Do trumpet mouth pieces also vary in size and are there particular sizes or models that certain brands make that I might feel more comfortable transition with? Should I bee looking for a wider rim and deeper cup?