aaaarrgh - timing!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by revjames, Jul 18, 2012.

1. revjames

revjames Piano User

Nov 14, 2010
    Anglesey, North Wales
    Having a few problems at the moment. Most of you by now will know that I am a returning trumpet player, been playing 2 years after a 30 year break having played through high school. Since school, I played drums, and then graduated to bass playing frequently in church and various small bands etc. Completely self taught and really like playing blues and 'walking bass' type rhythms. (more about the significance of this later)

I am currently working on some jazzy pieces such as 'fly me to the moon' and 'all of me' 'pennied from heaven' etc as I have joined a local jazz club and they want me (and trombone playing neighbour) to play next month.

Still with me so far?

Well heres the issue, I can play the tunes, I can pitch the notes, I can just about work out playing in 2 flats.... but the timing is becoming a real issue. I seem unable to follow timing when I play them. I use a backing track from BIAB and even when thats playing loud I seem unable to work out when to come in etc and really mess things up.

The trombone playing neighbour is very experienced and teaches and plays in brass bands and he is very patient with me but tonight we noticed something. When listening to the backing track I can tap my foot in time and follow every note and rest spot on. I picked up the bass guitar and added the bass line completely by ear and it was absolutely spot on in time despite being a walking rhythm.

My trombone playing neighbour/ teacher says he thinks there is some kind of conflict in timing from what I already know from playing bass and the timing needed to follow many trumpet parts particularly jazz.

Apologies for the long post but I really need some good advice,

Thanks in advance

James

2. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia