Advice for a poor fool

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by djserrant, Dec 13, 2008.

1. djserrant

djserrant New Friend

Dec 13, 2008
    Florida
    Hi all,

I'm new to TrumpetMaster forumn. I've noticed that whenever I play long music, in particular ones without long measures of rest, that my tone quality thins out over time eventually becoming very airy. In the past, I thought this was because I didn't have enough air, but recenty I believe it is because I don't have alot of endurance. Am I correct? What suggestions do you have if I am?

Also, it's been recommended alot on many trumpet websites that I learn how to lip buzz without the mouthpiece in order to improve my tone quality, endurance, and range. I've been practicing my lip buzz for about week now. However when I try to lip buzz into my trumpet, it's very uncomfortable. Furthermore, I'm unable to get any higher or lower octaves. I'm probably not doing it right. I've read on one website that trumpet players who don't know how to lip buzz usually have to push their horn against thier lips to go higher octaves. I'm able to get up to a double C and sometimes a little higher, but I don't believe I'm pushing the trumpet onto my lips. What do you all suggest?

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Welcome to TM. By double C what do you mean? The first C above the staff or the C above that. If it's the C above the C above the staff you have plenty of range. My first feeling is air and support. Are you taking a good deep breath? Are you playing too long on one breath? Are you using the diaphragm? We can not rectify this over the internet because we can not see or hear you play. The best thing you could do to help yourself is get to a good private teacher. If you have a university in your area I would find out who the trumpet teacher is and get with them.

3. Snorglorf

Snorglorf Pianissimo User

Nov 13, 2008