Advice for a returning player

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ragsman, Sep 6, 2005.

1. ragsman

ragsman New Friend

Sep 4, 2005
    Georgia
    Hello everyone! I played trumpet in high school, and after graduating in '85 I pretty much stopped playing. My son has now started beginner band, and I find my desire to play has returned! I have a couple of questions for you guys.

My basic plan of attack is to first get back into playing shape. What are some recommendations for techniques/books/etc that could put me through a good exercise routine to get my chops back? Keep in mind I can play still, but I'm basically a beginner again and would like to NOT develop any (ok, many..) bad habits.

Second, I'd like to continue technical studies somewhat, to learn the instrument better and get back to the ability to read and play music with some competency.

Finally, my ultimate goal is to simply be able to play music with my son as he develops, and to play music solely for myself, for the enjoyment of it. Heck, I might even get myself a decent horn if I make it to this point!

It seems everyone here recommends Arban's book, and many use Clarke's technical studies as well. Would these be enough to get me going, or are there better choices, specifically for the 'get back in shape' portion.

Oh, and on a side note, my son dug up some of my old CD's the other day, including Wynton Marsalis, Chuck Mangione, and Canadian brass. Do you guys have any recommendations for artists that might really inspire a 6th grade beginning trumpet player?

By the way, my name is Mark. I'm really jazzed to find a forum like this with the active participation of such super high class performers like Mr. Laureano, Mr. Wise, and Mr. Carroll. Fantastic!

2. camelbrass

camelbrass Mezzo Forte User

Nov 5, 2003
    Dubai, UAE