Advice for a Youngster

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Young Trumpeter, Feb 20, 2008.

1. Young Trumpeter

Young Trumpeter Pianissimo User

Jun 10, 2006
    Mr. McCandless,

I'm a junior in high school. I'm a very serious trumpet student, practicing every day and taking as many oppurtunities to play as i can. My goal is to major in music education in college and eventually become a band teacher. As far as the trumpet is concerned, is there any general advice you can give? Anything from preferable mouthpieces to practice ideas?

Thanks, and welcome to TM
    Aaron

2. Bourbon City

Bourbon City Pianissimo User

Jun 8, 2004
    Indianapolis, Indiana
    Remember that most anyone can make noise with the trumpet. Many even learn to play in a limited musical way. It takes much more to be a musician; to be a teacher. However, one does not need to be the best player to be a very good teacher or director.

It appears to me that many of todays players think that one must play super high (G, A even dblC) to be called a trumpet player. Not true my friend. Most music for trumpet is written below high C with much of it still it the staff. Heck, when I was your age, I didn't even know what double high C looked like, let alone sound like. I never saw it in high school.

Learn the fundamentals, practice, don't push too hard, rest twice as long as you play. Develop your tone. Pick a player whose sound you like and then develop your own version of that sound. Learn to articulate. Learn how to phrase. Learn all the keys. Scales. Lip slurrs. Do these until your friends threaten you with deportation or something.

A mouthpiece? That is a personal decision. You should take the recommendation of your teacher. For a starter mouthpiece, go as large as you can but retain all the other atributes you have developed along the way.