Advice needed!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by concordtrumpet, Sep 23, 2008.

1. concordtrumpet

concordtrumpet New Friend

Sep 23, 2008
    Hi guys,

I strive to be a music educator someday at the collegiate level in either trumpet or voice (I'm not quite sure yet, I love both tremendously). However, I feel that the university I'm currently attending isn't challenging me enough. This is my first year attending college and I'm tempted with the idea of transferring to a larger school such as Oberlin or Northwestern. I do, though, have a very good trumpet teacher who has helped me to grow throughout my high school career.

Here's my question (a couple, actually) - would it be worth it to save money and stick with it here? Or would graduating from a small college that is not very well known for it's music make it difficult for me to be competitive for graduate school?

Thanks a lot in advance!

Matt

2. BrassOnLine

BrassOnLine Piano User

Nov 22, 2007
    Spain
    Here in Europe, ALL titulations are equal, no matter where you studied, so it should not be a problem when seeking for a job (exept if you study in the UK, which diplomas are not always recognised in the European Union).
    You should study with the persons that would help you to improve your level. No worry about great names.
    Anyway, I know what happen in the USA, so you should think that studying on a well-known university would be an investment.
    Best wishes

3. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

My first question is, where do you go?
    But think about this: a larger school is not necessarily better, because you can get more personal opportunities to work with the professor. Also, the ensembles might be better, but you'll probably be doing smaller parts.
    Just some food for thought, the person to really ask would be Edward Carroll, because that's what he does for a living

4. DavidLarson

DavidLarson New Friend

Sep 23, 2008
    North Vancouver, Canada