Advice please!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by New2jazz, May 18, 2012.

1. New2jazz

New2jazz New Friend

Apr 25, 2012
    Hi everyone. I'm new to trumpet master and this is my first thread. I'm a classically trained trumpet player who studied in London at LCM/RAM. I'd really like to move over to the jazz side of playing. Could anyone advise if there is a 'bible' book that would help me to learn to improvise etc. I've got a decent technique etc and a basic command of the instrument but I'm clueless when it comes to the dark art ;-) Also I'm thinking of buying a new trumpet as I just sold my strad. Haven't got a massive budget so committes and monettes are off the shopping list. I can blow ok and I've always played a L/B 72 bell strad if that helps

Any advice would be great, thanks in advance

Paul

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    Check out a Kanstul 1504, it is a 72/43 built on a ML valve block. Fat sound with a deep mpc, roars with a lead piece.

As for learning improv:
    There are lots of great web based resources, and also computer tools for play-alongs. iRealB is a cool Android app for this. Garage Band, or Band IN a Box.
    Get a Bb Real Book (full of standard tunes, heads and changes).
    Listen to classic soloists (Brownie, Satchmo, Woody, Chet, Dizzy, etc...) transcribe and play those.
    SING a solo into a voice recorder, transcribe it and play it!

3. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    Lots of good advice will likely be given by many people. Here's my two cents.

When I wanted to learn to improvise, I used the Aebersold CD's (they were albums at that time). Volume 1, 2, and 3 would cover a lot of the fundamentals. I'd also get a copy of Aebersold's free jazz handbook. You can download it, or get it for free with any order from them.