Advise on Trumpet choice..

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by miguelradio, Feb 16, 2009.

1. miguelradio

miguelradio New Friend

Feb 16, 2009
    Sarasota, FL
    Hello,
    a newbie here. Well I have not picked up a horn for about 7 years now, but am ready to begin playing again. At the time I stopped playing, I would have considered myself an intermedite level player. I am looking for suggestions on horns that would be suitable for me.
    My favorite player has always been Miles, followed closely by Arturo Sandoval. Though I know I could never play remotely close to their levels....this is the kind of style and sound I'm looking to play. Money is really not a problem, but i don't want to buy a horn that is too advanced for my skill level....am I making any sense here :)

Any input would be welcomed with open arms.

Best Wishes- Michael

2. CHAMP

CHAMP Piano User

Nov 16, 2005
  3. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY
    On the far side of Orlando from you, in Oviedo, is Gerry Lopez Music. He knows trumpets and has both new and used horns, starting around $400. You didn't say what your budget is, but if you can play at all (still) then it would be worth your time to go there, about 2 1/2 hours each way, and play a few different horns.

Gerry Lopez Music : Home

Give him a call before you go.

veery

4. miguelradio

miguelradio New Friend

Feb 16, 2009
    Sarasota, FL
    that really sounds like a fine idea..... 2 1/2 hrs is no big deal. So do you think his prices are fair? I would prefer a vintage horn than a new one, I don't have a budget ..I'd pay $4K if I liked the trumpet enough. I don't mind traveling even further if anyone knows of a fine shop that usually has many vintage horns for me to play around with..
    By The way I thank-you both for you quick advise!
    Michael

5. veery715

veery715 Utimate User

Mar 6, 2007
    Ithaca NY