Air Flow and Lip Placement Help

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by SUB, Feb 19, 2012.

1. SUB

SUB New Friend

Feb 17, 2012
    I started playing trumpet last August. I went to an instructor every week for 4 months and have been learning on my own since December. Unfortunately, I just discovered that my lip placement does not seem to be right, which is causing me trouble hitting higher and lower notes. From what I've read, air flow from the lips should be going straight out in front of me. I didn't know this when I first started, and developed a habit of tucking my bottom lip in and blowing down across my bottom lip. When I buzz my lips, I can feel the air stream on my chin.

Anyway, I'd like to correct this ASAP. I've done some breathing exercises by blowing air straight out, and practicing with the mouthpiece. I'm getting a new instructor this week to help, but does anyone have some advice?

This is so frustrating because I spent so much time learning the wrong way and felt I was playing fairly well, but I hit a wall because I had to use pressure from the mouthpiece to play high notes, which killed my chops.

TIA

2. BustedChops

BustedChops Mezzo Forte User

Oct 1, 2011
    Its normal. High notes often suggest we need more mouthpiece pressure. I am in your same boat. It's hard to avoid using pressure to get get the high notes. Also pay attention to your neck...When you approach the upper register the tendons in your neck might pop out, your face turns red etc...It's as if you finished taking a huge bowel movement.

This is why all the great players encourage us to use our air and not your chops. It's best to let your instructor help you find your comfortable settings. There is a term "upstream" "downstream" embochure. I suggest you let your instructure help you fine tune your chops.