Air Leak NEED HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by A.Legaspi, Jan 30, 2009.

1. A.Legaspi

A.Legaspi New Friend

Jan 30, 2009
    I have noticed in the last year that I have developed an air leak on the right side of my embouchure, everytime I play I leak air from that side. It seems as though my embouchure cannot hold when I play. NOW my corners are nice firm and relaxed but I still have an air leak.

This is so frustrating, when I was in college I never had a problem playing I was always a strong player with a great sound. Now that I am in my 2nd year of teaching as a band director I find myself developing this problem and the worse part is that it happened in front of my students. I must say I did take some time off from the horn my first year due to the stresses of the job but once I began trying to practice some more and trying to ease my way back I found it difficult.

Things I have tried:
    Switchin MPC's from a GR 67LX to a Bach 3C and now to a Bach 7C which kind of helps but the problem still exists.

Please any help from you pro players out there or anyone who has had a similar problem.

Thank You!

A.L.

2. Al Innella

Al Innella Forte User

Aug 9, 2007
    Levittown , NY
    Practice,practice,practice, soft long tones & lip slurs, Arban`s , Clarke, etc. I couldn't`t touch the horn for four months once, when I came back I had the same range as before but had zero endurance with air leaking out the sides, this lasted a full month I was thinking of quiting, I hung in ,the leak went away, that was 25yrs. ago and it never bothered me again, it takes time to rebuild the embouchure muscles , its lack endurance thats causing the air leaking from the sides.

3. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    Are you leaking through the lips or from the mpc rim?

4. roryhislop

roryhislop New Friend

Dec 19, 2008