Alexander Goedicke Op. 49

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by KMRoark, Mar 7, 2012.

1. KMRoark

KMRoark New Friend

Apr 26, 2011
    HI, I am a freshman in high school and I am playing Alexander Goedicke Op. 49 for an up coming solo festival. I was just wondering if anybody had any ideas about this piece or just any thing that you have heard in the past that you liked and would be willing to share with me. I can play it well now, but just in case someone had an interesting thought to share about things that makes the piece even cooler and funner.

I do have technical skill and excellent tone quality, so that is not an issue with anything. I made high school Iowa All-state band this year as a freshman, and first chair SWIBA (Southwest Iowa Band Association)

2. MSfortissimo

MSfortissimo Pianissimo User

Jul 13, 2011
    SF Bay Area
    Don't rush the sections with multiple tonguing.

3. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    Have presence, not volume

4. DaTrump

DaTrump Forte User

Oct 21, 2011
    Huntsville, Texas
    And also, think "tip of tongue, tip of the tongue, tip of the tip of the tip of the tongue"

5. KMRoark

KMRoark New Friend

Apr 26, 2011
    I like that a lot. I will definitely try to do that.

6. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    Try and play it with a "Russian" flair. Don't take it too fast, but faster than the marked tempo. Make a big decrescendo at the end so that the last note is really soft.

7. codyb226

codyb226 Banned

Mar 9, 2011
    Florida, US