Allen vizzutti

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by NYCO10, Jul 17, 2010.

1. NYCO10

NYCO10 Pianissimo User

Feb 20, 2010
    United Kingdom
    Guys read this! as some of you know i am an english student who idolises AV, so you might already know this!

Pops McLaughlin (from) Allen Vizzutti:
    Help! Just got form letter My 10 yr position as U of Wa tpt prof is eliminated No warning G-bye salary & health care for 5. New director loves computer music No traditional interests Disturbing Please consider sending opinion about me my teaching or music ed to
    R Karpen [email protected] Director
    A M Cause [email protected] Dean
    P M Wise [email protected] Interim Pres

Can you guys believe this?:thumbdown:
    (see facebook page for more)

2. B15M

B15M Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Monroe Ct.
    I saw that on FB. I don't think he will have any trouble getting a new job and the school will suffer big time.

3. ltg_trumpet

ltg_trumpet Mezzo Piano User

Jan 21, 2009
    Gosh. Fools! hmmm. i hope he comes to indiana :)

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Signs of the times. Maybe the school would have preferred to have him on the road for Yamaha and Vizzutti less and available for more locally? Have any of his students got playing jobs? How big is his studio and how many lessons do his students get in the course of a school year?

I do not believe that the only reason is "computer music". Yes, he is a playing monster and his YouTubed "master" classes show pedagogical value. The value to the school and education program is something that we cannot judge unless we have real inside information. Just because someone plays world class will not make a university draw world class students.

5. ozboy

ozboy Mezzo Forte User

Jan 17, 2007
    Australia
    While this might be true, it would not be the first case of FB mis-information.