Am I crazy - starting late in life

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bill McCloskey, Apr 22, 2007.

1. Bill McCloskey

Bill McCloskey Piano User

Apr 22, 2007
    I'm 53. I played trumpet when I was a kid and picked it up again when I was in my 20's. But eventually I put it down in favor of guitar. I've been playing guitar for 35 years and I also play dobro, but lately, mainly due to my love of jazz, I've been thinking about picking up the trumpet again after all these years. Am I crazy to even think about it at my age and if I do decide to move forward, what is a decent trumpet to get?

2. Richard Oliver

Richard Oliver Forte User

Jul 18, 2006
    Casper, WY
    Bill, I played and studied for 4 years twenty-five years ago, and I resumed practicing a bit over a year ago. Now I practice everyday and playin the community band.

I rented a trumpet for a month before I bought one.

http://www.dallasmusic.org/gearhead/

There's a link that got me thinking in all the right directions as far what I looked for when I bought a trumpet.

All the Best,

Richard Oliver

3. RG111

RG111 Piano User

Nov 12, 2003
    I once had a student who came back to the trumpet at age 55. We started at square one, but I have a nice memory of him playing the trumpet well enough to do 1st mov't of Hummel on a recital! The guy loved to play trumpet!
    Roy Griffin

4. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    I started 10 years ago... at age 50. It's never too late.

5. johnnyjazz

johnnyjazz New Friend

Mar 21, 2006
    Upstate New York
    I played trumpet in high school through two years of college and then stopped. I started playing again 14 months ago. I practice 2-3 hours a day, I have a great teacher and I play in two community bands. The year I stopped playing was 1960. If I can do it with that long a break, I believe anyone with some desire can do it.
    Best of luck.
    John

6. zackamabufoo

zackamabufoo New Friend

Feb 9, 2004