Amount of practice time for 3rd year player?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by RichJ, Feb 1, 2010.

1. RichJ

RichJ Piano User

Jan 16, 2008
    Northern Virginia
    I've been teaching my son trumpet for about 2-1/2 years and I'm wondering how long he needs to be practicing a day to stay on track with his development? It's a challenge for him to find even an hour a day and I'm worried that an hour is not enough time to cover all of the bases on a daily basis. He does not play in any groups except during summer band camp. Between practicing scales, tonguing drills, solo pieces for specific performances and learning new etudes weekly, I think he really needs to find more like 90 minutes a day to stay on track. When I played as well as he does, my parents had to pry the horn from my hands to get me to eat, do homework, etc., but my son has many competing interests, like playing outside with friends, playing with matchbox cars on the floor, etc.

I think he's normal and I was a little obsessed (and a good bit older), but back to the original question. For a child playing at a good middle school level, what's a reasonable amount of practice time? As far as his level, he can execute the 1st mvmt of the Hummel and has a full sound. His site reading is his Achilles heel. He can play for 90+ minutes when we work on things on weekends, so endurance is not an issue for him.

Anyhow, any thoughts on practice time?

Thanks!

2. ed haley

ed haley New Friend

Mar 1, 2008
    Chicago
    You do not mention your son's age but from his other play interests he sounds pretty young.(11 or 12?). Also, you do not describe your background as a teacher. Fathers teaching sons can be pretty fraught with tension, especially when a boy starts to be a little rebellious.It could be that you need to meet with a competent brass teacher, someone who really has experience with children and see if you are on the right track pedagogically.

3. RichJ

RichJ Piano User

Jan 16, 2008