An Idea

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by a marching trumpet, May 24, 2010.

1. a marching trumpet

a marching trumpet Mezzo Piano User

Feb 11, 2009
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Well, at my high school marching band is really REALLY BIG. Consequently when people mainly take from our main lessons teacher, they only use the upper register work in the packet, when not under supervision by him. Thus creating bad tone, and they pursue the goal of getting high notes the WRONG way. I know im no expert, but over the years of being with my lessons teacher (same with a few other guys) I have learned that not really using your chop muscles until you get up to high C, and relying more upon your tongue's arch etc will provide you with more consitancy, better tone qualities, and pitch. Im just trying to explain it the best way I can (from a high schoolers pov, I know I dont have the college edu to back it up) Anyways, I know for a fact that most people in our section do no take lessons, and by all means we do have a very good band program (TN state champions in the 2009 program) but this year has very difficult music from a coordination standpoint. Alot of us have noticed bad habits in the people who do not take lessons, and I formed an idea of creating a new packet that would have no Caruso exercises in it (as to not promote upper register) but rather, initially focus on this stuff:

1) Arban: Exercise 9, pg 12: and use this as kinda a breath attack deal to promote tongue level at an initial attack
    2) Clarke Studies (no explanation here)
    3) Claude Gordon: exercise III part 1, pg 16, and exercise IV part1, pg 18: I kinda thought we could lip bend those, I personally do that to work on having the tongue KNOW the position of each note, and play it regardless of fingerings
    4) My personal favorite SCHLOSSBERG!!!!!