Annoying blood-blister-like lesions on lower lip

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Lyndon, Oct 8, 2011.

1. Lyndon

Lyndon New Friend

Aug 5, 2009
    Lancashire, UK
    A bit of background: I'm 53 and I've been learning the trumpet for about three months now (I'm a professional organist/piano accompanist/teacher). I absolutely love the trumpet, and have found an excellent teacher. I practice for about an hour a day, all told, split up into three or four sessions - first thing in the morning, lunchtime and in the evening. I play a 3-yr-old Bach Strad and have a 1 1/2C mouthpiece, which feels right.

About six weeks ago I discovered a couple of small, hard lumps that look a bit like blood blisters close to the right-hand corner of my lips: like the kind of thing you'd get after accidentally biting your lip. They seemed to appear pretty well overnight. I think I might have triggered their appearance by 'trying too hard' and compressing the corners of my mouth a bit too much in my early practice - my embouchure is now a lot more relaxed, and I don't use very much pressure at all. I have been wondering whether they might be varicose veins. Please see the accompanying picture - the 'bumps' are just above the writing, which is too small to read (the image appears larger when clicked). The lumps have not increased or decreased in size since they first appeared.

Funnily enough, I'm least aware of these things when I'm playing - but they seem a bit harder and darker after practice (and sometimes very slightly sore), becoming softer and paler when rested overnight.

So: questions - has anyone else here experienced anything similar? Ought I to seek a surgical remedy (cauterization, perhaps, if they're varicose veins?). I realise this is a trumpet forum and not a doctors' one, but I just wanted to see if anyone here knows anything about this kind of problem. Having made very good progress recently, I don't want anything to get in the way!