Any advice for my solo piece?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Learningon, Dec 10, 2009.

1. Learningon

Learningon New Friend

Dec 10, 2009
    Hello people!
    I'm new to this, so if I'm posting in the totally wrong place, please tell me!

Anyway, to get to the point... My trumpet teacher recently gave me a Solo piece by Guillaume Balay called Petite Piece Concertante.
    When he first suggested it to me, I was intimidated because I'm not even on HS yet. Well, I've been having really great time with it. But, I would like any great advice that anyone could give me!

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    1) Practice slowly with a metronome - do not accept less than perfect rhythm. Start going faster when you have mastered slower!
    2) Mark ALL of the places that you breathe in pencil and practice it ONLY that way. Many players fall on their face because the breathing gets out of sync
    3) Look up Balay and find out a bit more about him and the piece
    4) primarily practice the parts that you have trouble with. Our brains work by recalling patterns. If you carefully prepare the hard parts they are stored and can be recalled later. If you store garbage, that comes back too!
    5) finally, EVERY NOTE COUNTS! I have been a judge quite often and even advanced players mess up by underestimating the half notes. EVERYTHING has to be properly practiced. There are no excuses when a trumpeter commits to playing for other people.

3. Learningon

Learningon New Friend

Dec 10, 2009
    Thank you! Funny that you mentioned underestimating half notes. My trumpet teacher has already gotten on to me for that!
    I haven't had to many problems with breathing yet, but I know I will. I've only worked on the first half so far, but I'm going to be starting to work on the march this week.

4. Phil986

Phil986 Forte User

Nov 16, 2009
    Near Portland, OR.