.Any critique? for self taught palyers.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by the newbie, Feb 12, 2012.

1. the newbie

the newbie Pianissimo User

Jan 27, 2011
    San Francisco
    Here's a couple of videos of me playing some really easy tunes, i would like feed back as to what you consider any faults i have or areas where i could improve. Ive been playing coming up to 3 years and never had a lesson.

Is it cool to be able to say i'm totally self taught and have never had a lesson? should i keep going as is or get some lessons quick. It's really just bragging rights! lol.

Which leads to my main question... Would it be "virtually" impossible for a person to become a professional concert musician, without ever being formally trained?

New Project 3 - YouTube
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VKYjAh_LFas

also sorry to cody and anyone else i upset in my last posts, i was just trying to lighten things up on here, which lets face it can get nasty sometimes...:-?

xjb0906 likes this.
  2. gmonady

gmonady Utimate User

Jan 28, 2011
    Dayton, Ohio
    Technically, the notes are there. It lacks feeling. Notes are not held out full length, phrasing is cut short. To put it into perspective, would you recite the words this way:

Sumer Tim/ an da livin is esy/

Or would you sing this:

Summeeerr timmmmme and the livvveennn is eeeeasssyyyyy...

See this is the way your phrasing should be. Then we can go to the tone. It is monotonic kinda like:

Bueller? Scene from Ferris Bueller's Day Off Movie (1986) | MOVIECLIPS

Is it cool to be able to say i'm totally self taught and have never had a lesson?
    No, after hearing this video, it is not cool.

Should i keep going as is or get some lessons quick?
    No, don't keep going as is. You should get some lessons after researching out who you feel you can best connect with, who will inspire you. A quick fix may blow the wind out of your sail.