Any help for an Older guy trying to play better??

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Samurota, Feb 21, 2015.

1. Samurota

Samurota New Friend

Feb 6, 2013
    I'm 55 now and picked the horn back up couple of years ago. After I lost my parents a few years back I decided I would pursue some things in my life I enjoy. Kinda don't want to wait too long til its too late. Some of you may relate.
    That's the back story ,Now I play 3rd with a swing band and I really like it a lot. I've been taking lessons and trying to get to a level where I don't struggle so much but I have reached a point where I don't seem to progress in range or in being able to do runs and faster parts. I'm a mechanic so my fingers seem to be tighter and not move as fast or well as some .
    I really want to get past this plateau and progress to a point where I feel comfortable with the higher range and faster parts. I could use some help or is this something I just have to work through??

Vulgano Brother likes this.
  2. Comeback

Comeback Forte User

Jun 22, 2011
    Fort Wayne, IN
    Welcome to TM and active posting! One way or another, you will simply have to work through it. It seems you are doing many of the right things. There are teachers, "chop docs", who might help you with range specifically. Jeanne Pocius, who I know only by reputation, comes to mind. I worked in construction trades for many years and can identify a little with your dexterity issues. Working exercises and tunes with a metronome and gradually increasing tempos, along with learning alternate fingerings, may be helpful as you work to master faster parts. I think plateauing happens to many of us at one time or another, but even during these times there is much opportunity for improvement with aspects of playing other than those we are fixated upon. Also, sometimes more may be less when it comes to practice. Overdoing when chops are tired has not been helpful for me. Good luck!

Jim

3. Dennis78