Anyone try playing flute?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by anotherhornter, Apr 21, 2011.

1. anotherhornter

anotherhornter New Friend

Mar 13, 2011
    Hello!
    I’m a novice, learning to play an old Roth cornet which I enjoy.

Last week I started learning flute as well, and I’m worried that it may affect my horn playing.
    Has anyone had experience playing both instruments?

2. bumblebee

bumblebee Fortissimo User

Jan 21, 2010
    Great Southern Land
    I have - but it may not help you! I found I just couldn't make the flute sound nice (and it was a Yamaha with which my sister could challenge James Galway) so stopped. Maybe years of trumpet had had an affect on my lips/breathing which didn't suit the flute.

However, playing the piano doesn't seem to have affected my trumpet playing at all.

--bumblebee

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Never played flute, but played around with a flute player who was the Drum Major's girlfriend. Put my life in serious danger.

4. Buck with a Bach

Buck with a Bach Fortissimo User

Dec 29, 2009
    Canton, Ohio
    Never played one either..............But........I did play around with a flute player, we've been married almost 36 years now:lol::roll::oops:

5. Dupac

Dupac Fortissimo User

Aug 19, 2008
    Bordeaux, France.
    My secund wife (out of 3) was a flute player. I tried, but never got a good sound. From the flute, of course.

6. TrumpetMD

TrumpetMD Fortissimo User

Oct 22, 2008
    Maryland
    I started playing the chromatic harmonica a year ago, which like the flute, is in C. I play both trumpet and harmonica in "real book" trio. I can't comment on embouchure differences with the flute. But having to learn these tunes in 2 keys has helped me musically.

7. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon