Arban's Fundamentals

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Snorglorf, Dec 27, 2008.

1. Snorglorf

Snorglorf Pianissimo User

Nov 13, 2008
    I'm going to pretend for a second that I'm a complete beginner to trumpet with no experience at all. Which Arbans exercises should I be doing to begin with to form a strong foundation?

I just want to go back to basics and make sure I'm solid with everything I can already do, and just really perfect my technique. But what exercises should I start with? Should I just work from front to back?

Thanks for any input. :)

2. jcstites

jcstites Mezzo Forte User

Jun 1, 2005
    Tallahassee, FL
    The first 11 pages. Actually, I have done most of those pages everyday over this winter break. I do them at the indicated tempos and it has really helped solidify some things. They are so technically easy, but the hardest thing to play at the same time. Pennies in the bank.

3. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    if you are a beginner the Arban's is not the book to start on. Find a good beginning method book and start there. there are the Yamaha band books, Standard of Excellence and breeze-easy method to name a few. Oh and most important. FIND A GOOD TEACHER! learning to play the trumpet should not be left to trial and error.

As far as the Arban's book, it's not wrettin to be studied front to back. You work with it in sections assigned by a good teacher.

Last edited: Dec 27, 2008
  4. A.N.A. Mendez

A.N.A. Mendez Utimate User

Oct 25, 2005
    Sunny Ca.
    Wasn't there a guy in the San Francisco area that had a study guide/system for the Arban?

5. westview1900

westview1900 Piano User

Nov 30, 2005
  6. djserrant

djserrant New Friend

Dec 13, 2008
    Florida