Arnold Jacobs

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Veldkamp, Nov 8, 2005.

1. Veldkamp

Veldkamp Piano User

Mar 29, 2004
    the Netherlands
    Hi Manny, your avatar shows Arnold Jacobs. I've read and watched a lot of stuff concerning him lately so my obvious question is : have you played with him or took lessons with him? Or can you share other things you learned from him. I became a big fan of his teaching after reading his book and watched the videos on his website.

He and Bill Adam tought me a lot about trumpetplaying. Not that I changed anything. But I understand more what I'm doing when I'm playing the trumpet.

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Erik,

Welcome back, it's been a long time since you have posted.

Yes, I studied with Arnold and have posted pretty extensively about my work with him to the point where everybody's sick of it! Try the search feature and see what you come up with. If you find not enough, I can write a little about it.

By the way, your website is fabulous and I encourage everyone to check it out.

ML

3. PH

PH Mezzo Piano User

Dec 2, 2003
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Never!

4. Veldkamp

Veldkamp Piano User

Mar 29, 2004
    the Netherlands
    the wedge

I think I was abroad when you were writing about AJ. I did a search, but didn't search enough probably.

A have a few questions though :

Can you tell anything about tongue arching. It's clear to me that by thinking about vowels the tongue works at his best for tongueing. I didn't get it if you or AJ uses the tongue for coloring the sound of a note after the attack. Or is the tong out of the way of the airstream after the attack. (I guess that's what I'm doing).

A second questions is about the "wedge" (Bobby Shew) or the way leadplayers are breathing. Did Jacobs say anything about that?

Btw. thanks for your kind words about my website.

5. ROGERIO

ROGERIO Mezzo Forte User

Sep 30, 2004
    PHOENIX, AZ