Articulation Syllables

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by LaTrompeta, Feb 13, 2016.

1. LaTrompeta

LaTrompeta Forte User

May 3, 2015
    Colorado Springs
    I've been working a lot on articulation lately. Mostly, I have been trying to overcome some really bad habits that developed slowly over a couple of years. When I was a student in high school, my trumpet teacher (very well-respected, pm me if you want to know who) taught me to tongue with the "du" syllable. Double-t was "du-gu". I know that Arban and his successors abhorred such syllables, opting for a "tu-ku" instead. I feel like there are a number of other syllables that can be used, however. I found that "tee" was good for piccolo trumpet (in fact, in one of my pic excerpt books I wrote "tea time!") Also, I think "toe" can be good for low notes. What are some examples of syllables you use and more importantly what have you found in your teaching to be most effective for trumpet playing?

2. seilogramp

seilogramp Piano User

Nov 23, 2009
    Georgia, USA
    Keep in mind that Arban was French. His "tu-ku" might not be exactly the way someone from Colorado would be saying it. Either way, du-gu or tu-ku, both will have the tip of the tongue hitting the roof of the mouth, not exactly what should be happening when single or double-tounging on the trumpet. I get my cleanest sound with the tounge is anchored to behind the lower teeth and the arch of the tongue is doing the articualtion against the roof of the mouth. If you actually used that tongue position in speaking, you'd sound like you have a speech impetiment. ;-)

3. LaTrompeta

LaTrompeta Forte User

May 3, 2015
    Colorado Springs
    I actually do use an anchor-tongue now. I made the conscious switch a number of years ago and I *think* it helps.

4. Sethoflagos

Sethoflagos Utimate User

Aug 7, 2013
    Lagos, Nigeria
    Really? Hasn't this technique served generations of good trumpet players?

5. seilogramp

seilogramp Piano User