At a Crossroads in my music career

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Josiah, Feb 4, 2008.

1. Josiah

Josiah New Friend

Jan 8, 2008
    Hello! Ok so I am at a cross roads in my music career. I am in Sr. in high school and want to go into music in college. A few days ago a picked up a Euphonium. I love it and everything and I actually have a better sound on Euphonium than trumpet and I've only been playing a couple days on euph. t. I've been playing trumpet for 7 years but I have a better sound a euphonium. I'm also marching drum and bugle corps with a DCI corps so I am going to have to play trumpet this summer. How do you know if you should switch? I don't know if I want to switch. Can someone shed some light on this? :dontknow: please! :D

Last edited: Feb 4, 2008
  2. Brekelefuw

Brekelefuw Fortissimo User

Mar 21, 2006
    Toronto
    Personally, I am going to tell you to stick with trumpet. It is an instrument that is more popular, and will get you more work in the professional music field than playing Euphonium.
    Make the Euph a double so you can earn extra money and work on it, but keep the trumpet up. Is a few days of Euphonium playing really worth giving up years of trumpet?

3. nplotts1

nplotts1 Fortissimo User

Aug 5, 2007
    Atlanta, Georgia
    I would have to agree. I played Bari-Sax my senior year and fell in love with it, granted I didn't have the good sounds and all in a few days, but I still would never spend a few days on something completely new and change my instrument when the glory might fade off soon.

4. commakozzi

commakozzi Pianissimo User

Oct 30, 2007
    Georgia, USA