Avoiding Injury

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Hey_Pauly, Apr 5, 2011.

1. Hey_Pauly

Hey_Pauly New Friend

Dec 17, 2010
    Hello fellow trumpet junkies,

Forgive me in advance for the length of this post.

I started playing guitar at a young age. It truly was one of the great, if not the great passion in my life. I studied everything, jazz, blues, rock metal, and classical. I played gigs, wrote music, and taught many lessons. All of this ended when I came down with a still not fully diagnosed issue in both my hands that makes it impossible for me to play. This was devastating for me. Words cannot describe the pain it caused me.

During my time as a guitar player there was always one other instrument I wanted to play, the trumpet. About a year ago I decided to do it and I love it. The romance I had with the guitar is back and maybe even stronger, but I have to admit that I am a little neurotic, I don't want to go through the pain of losing the ability to play again. I am hoping that you wise ones out there can give me some advice on avoiding injury so that I can go on playing my trumpet for the rest of my days. Thanks.

AP

2. Hey_Pauly

Hey_Pauly New Friend

Dec 17, 2010
  3. turtlejimmy

turtlejimmy Utimate User

Jun 6, 2010
    Oregon
    Hey Pauly,

Sorry to hear about the loss of your guitar playing ..... take heart. Trumpet is a lot less demanding of manual dexterity. It sounds like the injury or affliction you have that prevents you from playing guitar was not from anything you did.

If you approach the trumpet in a sensible manner, with lots of rests mixed in with your playing, you should be fine. Mind your lips and see that they don't get swollen or overworked. Lots of rests. Congrats on the new trumpet playing, it's very rewarding.

You are already on the high road ..... You're a Miles Davis fan!:thumbsup: He's the BEST .... check out the Chris Botti interview (another Miles fan).

Welcome to the forumn.

Turtle

4. frankmike