bach 3c to bach 1 1/2 c mouthpiece

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by songbook, Apr 10, 2011.

1. songbook

songbook Piano User

Apr 25, 2010
    Just wondering if any of you have gone from a bach 3c to a bach 1 1/2 c trumpet mouthpiece, and what was the biggest difference you found if any at all.

2. CaptainAddy

CaptainAddy Pianissimo User

Nov 14, 2010
    Camden County, GA
    It's more room to fit your chops in, deeper cup, a world of difference. My lips would leak air because the aperture formed would always be too large when met with such a large rim diameter. I played a 3C for about a year, and decided it wasn't for me, as the leakage and airy sound that I got when I started playing (lips hadn't swollen) was too much. I'm a happy 6-7 rim player now. Best of luck. Oh, and make sure to go about slowly, and no switching: a mouthpiece change is a big difference, and switching will screw up your face.

3. SteveRicks

SteveRicks Fortissimo User

Aug 15, 2009
    Alabama
    Here is what the Bach web page says
    11⁄2C* Medium 17.00 mm Medium wide, Large diameter, medium cup – good for all-around use.
    3C* Medium 16.30 mm Medium wide. Fairly large cup, good for all-around use.

I also pulled both up on Kanstul's mouthpiece comparator. ON it, I did not "see" the 16.3 vs 17 mm cup diameter which makes me wonder about the accuracy of the comparator. It did show the 1 1/2 C as having a slightly deeper cup.

TO be honest, both mouthpieces are pretty close to eachother. As a youth I moved from a 3c to a 1 and 1l2C for a slightly bigger sound. I'm back on the 3C today.

Again, the difference between the two appears very small. Why do you think you need a different mouthpiece?

The best way to know is to ty one. Most music shops will let you try one. Take your horn down and see what you think. They likely even have some used ones.

4. Ed Lee

Ed Lee Utimate User

Aug 16, 2009
    Jackson NC