Bach 5C

Discussion in 'Mouthpieces / Mutes / Other' started by rdt1959, Nov 20, 2003.

1. rdt1959

rdt1959 Pianissimo User

Oct 31, 2003
    Georgia
    Since I started playing again, I have read alot about many...many...different mouthpiece.

Schilkes
    GR
    Monette
    Bach 1
    Bach 1 1/2
    Bach 3
    etc
    etc

But I don't recall reading anything good OR bad in any of the forums about the Bach 5c.

When I was in junior high and most of high school I played on a Bach 7c mouthpiece. In December of my senoir year in high school (after marching band had finished...ugh), I switched to the 5c. I loved the "warmer" or "rounder" tone I got! (yes, I lost range initially, but got it back pretty quickly).

So when I started playing again just a year ago, I switched back to the 5c as soon as I could (been playing on the about 6 months now).

I am just curious why I don't hear more about the 5c? Is there something wrong with it? (I mean wrong...as opposed to being unpopular). I would be interested in hearing what ya'all say about the 5c.

Thanks

2. LFRoberts5

LFRoberts5 Pianissimo User

Nov 1, 2003
    St. Louis
    I PLAYED a Bach 5C
    Now I use the GR 65MX and Curry 5BC. "Same" as the Bach 5C only better. If you like it stay with it.
    Lloyd

3. kdawg

kdawg New Friend

Nov 19, 2003
    I used to play a bach 5B...
    then i was switched to a schilke 14...
    then i was switched back to a mouthpiece w/ a rim diamater the same as a 5...
    now whenever i get a mouthpiece it has to have the same diameter...
    odds are i could still be playing that 5b... it was a pretty good mouthpiece... but the safari called... and now i have problems chosing wich mouthpiece to play sometimes

4. dizforprez

dizforprez Forte User

Nov 2, 2003
    a 5c is a good mouthpiece...stick with it.

5. rdt1959

rdt1959 Pianissimo User

Oct 31, 2003
    Georgia
    Yeah, I think the 5C is a good mouth piece, and yeah, I do intend to stick with it for quite a while.