Bad Habits

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by AndrewK, Feb 10, 2005.

1. AndrewK

AndrewK New Friend

Feb 10, 2005
    Edmonton, AB
    I have been playing trumpet for 15 years, however, I have always played by ear, not reading sheet music whatsoever. I can play by ear quite well and generally listen to a song and play it instantly. But, I am now looking to take lessons to read music to learn more and am worried that I will have such bad habits from improvising constantly that I will struggle with it. Does anybody have any suggestions or advice for me in bringing discipline to my playing?

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    Andrew,

No need for you to worry until you get together with a good private teacher, if that's your plan. You've been enjoying the horn way too much to worry about it. A good teacher will be instructive yet encouraging.

If he hears you play and starts shaking his head, run away, run away! It's important to be someone who's knowlegeable and encouraging even if you only take a lesson once a month. Spend the money and find a good teacher not a Trumpet Mill type.

Good luck,
    ML

3. MUSICandCHARACTER

MUSICandCHARACTER Forte User

Jan 31, 2004
    Newburgh, Indiana
    Oh my ....

One of the most gifted piano players I have heard at age 18 when I was a freshman music major who had a great ear. He could read some music too. He failed music theory and the last I heard he was a computer field engineer. He had more raw talent in his pinky than I did in all of my being. But he got frustrated by the basics.

He is one example, and I have met others. Playing by ear is a blessing. Playing from music is a discipline. Remember that and you will be fine. Most people with a good ear what to play what is not written. Their ear tells them it would sound better a different way.