BE as Calisthenics?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by uatrmpt, Dec 9, 2005.

1. uatrmpt

uatrmpt Piano User

Nov 29, 2003
    AL
    I've been doing BE off and on for a couple of months now and have noticed that the RI exercises seem to produce a feeling somewhat similar to Caruso's Six Notes or other techniques, such as the pencil exercise.

When I do the Roll In exercises with the nose breathing, I'm keeping my chops set throughout the entire range and I don't release them until the end of that particular page. I can't seem to recall anything in the text about whether or not to reset in between "phrases" (which the nose breathing would negate), but I also don't recall anything about relaxing the embouchure or not during the nose breathing.

So, my two questions are this:
    1) Relax the embouchure or not during the nose breathing?
    2) Was the calisthenic nature which occurs if you don't relax during the nose breathing an intended thing, or just a happy coincidence? Either way, it seems to be a benefit.

Thanks,
    Matt

(Crossposted from TH due to lack of response over there)

2. dbacon

dbacon Mezzo Piano User

Oct 24, 2003
    Scottsdale, AZ.
    Schlossberg

Clarke

Irons

Arban

Charlier

Scales and Chords

Good trumpet practice!!

3. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    BE, RI, RO, TOL, TLC, RKO, TKO, TOKYO, ABC, NBC, CBS, MSN, MSNBC, PMS, and don't forget PB&J.

ML

4. uatrmpt

uatrmpt Piano User

Nov 29, 2003
    AL
    I get my Schlossberg during my daily maintenence routine, along with various lip slurs. Lately, I've been using Irons more for the double tonguing stuff in the back than anything. As far as the others, I've got a healthy dose of recital lit on my plate, but they'll return if I ever get to play what I want to again.