beginner help

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by maybnexttime, Feb 14, 2007.

1. maybnexttime

maybnexttime New Friend

Feb 14, 2007
    For my history of playing trumpet, I've been playing for about 1 1/2 months and my double tongue is decent(it is majorly stressed out at my church that you learn it and my church is very dedicated to our music) and most people say I have good tone. I practice on average 2-3 hours a day taking breaks in between. My parents started me out with a basic getzen and I enjoy playing it, but the problem is with my range. I can barely hit high B I'm playing on a 7C but my mouthpiece is slightly bigger than other 7C's. Will I ever be able to hit high notes? Being in 1st trumpet at church and 2nd chair in symphonic band this weakness is killing me :/ is there anyway to improve my reach?

Last edited: Feb 14, 2007
  2. MJ

MJ Administrator Staff Member

Jan 30, 2006
    Naptown
    Your best bet would be to find a good teacher!

3. maybnexttime

maybnexttime New Friend

Feb 14, 2007
    My teachers I currently have are amazing,I'll ask them as soon as I can but I'm pretty sure it's a personal problem or a flaw with my lips.

4. MJ

Jan 30, 2006
    Naptown
    Ok, Well ask your teacher about it. Its going to be very hard to diagnose any playing problem you might have over the internet.

5. maybnexttime

maybnexttime New Friend

Feb 14, 2007
    Not really about the problem, but I would want some advice on what I can do to improve my reach is more what I'm asking for.

6. MJ

Jan 30, 2006
    Naptown
    maybenexttime. I don't mean to sound like a broken record.... but ask your teacher what to do about it. You said you have a teacher. That is what you are paying him or her to do for you. Diagnose playing problems and tell you how to fix them.

I'll give you a good internet answer. Trying playing expanding chromatic scales. That will improve your range.

7. Fredrick

Fredrick New Friend

Jan 1, 2007