Beginner: Is a C keyed trumpet ok

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by staleyja, Oct 12, 2011.

1. staleyja

staleyja New Friend

Oct 12, 2011
    I'm a newbie thinking of buying and leaning to play with a C keyed trumpet so I can play with the piano and either one not have to transpose. Can I hear some pros and cons from some veteran players? I will be playing mostly hymns with piano accompanment.
    Are those $150 eBay horns with 10 yr. Valve warranties worth fooling with?

Allen

2. Phil986

Phil986 Forte User

Nov 16, 2009
    Near Portland, OR.
    Beware of anything made in Asia. It may be OK, or not. If not, you'll have little recourse. I'll defer to those with teaching experience for the rest of your questions.

3. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA
    I am not a teacher and have not even played a C-trumpet so what I have to offer is based on reading numerous other threads here related to that question. There are several issues:
    (1) Some people who can hear pitch very well have difficulty at first because the tones do not match the ones they are used to hearing on a Bb trumpet for a particular valve combination. But, with time and practice, that issue goes away.
    (2) Due to the geometry (lengths of tuning slides, etc) of C-trumpets, they tend to have more intonation issues than Bb trumpets. So, it is important to find a good one.