Beginner tuning

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by 12345, Oct 15, 2008.

1. 12345

12345 New Friend

Oct 15, 2008
    Hey, guys.

I just started playing less than a month ago and I'm doing all right, but I have trouble playing consecutive notes in tune. I can set the main slide and all, but I still need to work on adjusting my embouchure and using the third slide for fine tuning while playing.

I'm just wondering if it would be a better idea to concentrate on that almost exclusively right now or to just keep moving along at a steady pace and try to hone that as I go.

2. Trumpet guy

Trumpet guy Forte User

Feb 9, 2008
    California
    Most tuning troubles are minimal with a decent instrument (anything that is name brand will work for a beginner, i.e. Bach, Yamaha, King, Conn, Selmer, etc...) and a strong (correct) embrochure. You only need the third slide for the low D and C#. It's always a good idea to focus on your weak spots, but you have to keep progressing over all or it means nothing. Good trumpet playing is the ability to combine several skills (breath control, finger dexterity, etc...) to play music. Remember "In you're not improving, you're falling behind."

If you have a private teacher, he (or she) can keep you on the right track. If not, my advice (which is the same advice I got from my teacher) is to play long tones at the beginning of each practice. 10 min. tops. Start from G (no valves down) make sure that the note sounds good. then go down a half step to F# (2nd valve) and make sure that sounds good and is in tune, then down by half steps to F, E, Eb, and so on. Continue to blow the same as you do this. The biggest mistake my friends and I had was changing the air stream to go up and down. Check with a piano (well-tuned or digital) or other reliable pitch source for the interval. Or use an electronic tuner if your ears aren't as well developed yet.