Beginner with (low) range problems

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by rmavillarica, Jan 24, 2010.

1. rmavillarica

rmavillarica New Friend

Nov 14, 2009
    Greetings from the Philippines!

I am a 42 year old beginner. I have been taking lessons twice a week for about 1.5 months, so I hope it is not too early to ask questions.

I am having problems with Low C and below. I can do a decent scale from D to C in the staff, but when I try C below, I usually cannot hit or stick to the right pitch, I usually end up bending it downwards somehow.

Help please!

Martin

Last edited: Jan 24, 2010
  2. Peter McNeill

Peter McNeill Utimate User

Jan 30, 2009
    Melbourne Australia
    Try to relax...
    It's never too early to ask questions. Normally most people will hit the G as the preferred starting point.

My only advice is to relax the jaw, think of the word "How" to open the jaw slightly, relax the shoulders and the embouchure.

And don't worry, it will come. Your teacher can see you, so should be able to offer some good advice.
    Cheers
    Peter

3. dhbailey

dhbailey Piano User

Jul 28, 2009
    New Hampshire
    If you're taking 2 lessons a week for 1.5 months, that's 10/12 lessons. I'm amazed that your trumpet teacher hasn't been able to help you get those lower notes. Is your teacher a trumpet player who teaches, or a teacher who plays the trumpet? Lots of good trumpet players aren't necessarily good teachers and lots of good teachers aren't necessarily good trumpet players.

Without watching you play, the only suggestion which pops into my mind is that you might need a larger mouthpiece.

Remember that the lowest range doesn't mean "make your lips as loose as possible and blow with low pressure" -- the low notes require an embouchure formed with the correct amount of pressure and the correct amount of air pressure blowing through them to make the proper pitch.

4. rmavillarica

rmavillarica New Friend

Nov 14, 2009
    Thank you for your responses.