Beginners Question?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Hitman0042, Aug 9, 2008.

1. Hitman0042

Hitman0042 Banned

Aug 9, 2008
    Australia
    At the moment i have just hired a trumpet for a little while just to experiacne and make sure i like the instrument to carry on with it. I just want to know when i go for my own trumpet. What is a good one to get for a begginer and resonable in price. Maybe less than $1000. I am only a Student so lol i dont have much money yet!

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Hitman,
    don't worry about what instrument to buy yet. Get your chops together and work with your teacher when you have enough money together. There are at least a thousand posts on "what trumpet" here at TM. Use the search feature, read them and you will be well on your way.

My take is, once you have reached a certain amount of proficiency, play EVERYTHING that you can get your hands on and take notes. Your first purchase should involve at least a year of research! Then you can tell us what works best!

3. mrmusicnotes

mrmusicnotes Piano User

Nov 11, 2007
    N.Y.C.
    Hi hitman,Any of the well known brands are what I would stick with,such as Kanstul,Besson,yamaha getzen bach etc.Your teacher should be the one to help you to pick a horn since he has the best angle on your playing traits.Go to wwbw.com if you want to get a look at some of the most popular beginner-intermediate horns available. Here they are catagorized nicely by playing level and price here.Good luck

4. Darthsunshine

Darthsunshine Mezzo Forte User

Jul 19, 2008
    Seattle, WA