Beginner's Range

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Dreamer, Aug 28, 2010.

1. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    What should a new trumpet student expect in the way of range after 8 weeks of practice? 6 months? 12 months?
    How long does it take a new student on average to be able to play a C above the staff?
    As a new trumpet student I'm trying to set realistic (attainable) goals to measure my own progress.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  2. oreoflake

oreoflake New Friend

Aug 15, 2010
    When I first started out in fourth grade, I got to a 'D' in the staff after 8 weeks... not a very amazing range, I know. It took me FOREVER (3-ish years) to get to the C above the staff, probably because of my lack of air support back then, but after that, I was able to hit a high 'G' (the second G above the staff) a month or two later.

But how old are you? I think age might be a variable on that. I have a friend (I'm currently 16, and I can hit a high 'A' when necessary) who recently started, and he can play the C above the staff now, two months later.

3. Trumpet Dreamer

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    I am 56 (yes, really old!). My range as of today, after 9 weeks total on the horn is a D above high C. Sometimes Eb. My "gig" range is a B above the staff. A high school friend (12th grade) of mine, who played trumpet to help his breathing problems (Rx) was able to hit dub A's all day long and not even work up a sweat!
    I do practice hard, but any accomplishment that I have made has to be credited in part to Keith Fiala. A very good teacher, with lot's of patience.

Last edited: Aug 28, 2010
  4. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California