Being Ready

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by xjb0906, Dec 29, 2013.

1. xjb0906

xjb0906 Piano User

May 2, 2009
    Charlotte NC
    No names will be mentioned in this story to protect the guilty.

I have been playing third trumpet in a big band for a few years now. I play mostly third, but get lead on a few parts and some solos. About 3-4 months ago our lead player left the band, which left an opening for a lead player. I am not yet able to fill that roll, but am getting closer with each passing day. The leader of the band found a pro trumpet player to get us through last night's gig. He has played in several big name bands and taught trumpet at more than one university. He attended a few rehearsals in the month before the gig. I played lead during the rehearsals that he was unable to attend. Unfortunately, he was unable to play the gig due to having some surgery earlier in the week. He chose a sub of equally impressive credentials to send in his stead.