bells bores etc.???

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bottoms94, Feb 13, 2010.

1. Bottoms94

Bottoms94 New Friend

Dec 14, 2009
    Chesterfield Va.
    Hello, I have a few questions on very confusing things!
    I have no idea what people are talking about when they talk about trumpet, cornets, and other instruments bores size, bell size, or any of that jazz. So my main question is what is the difference in the sizes?
    Also i want to know what the differences in mouthpieces are. Like what the heck is the difference between Bs Cs as 11Es? All ive ever have played on is Cs.

Thank you to whom ever can anwser my questions. It will be greatly appresiated in the long run when i am a musician.

2. Pedal C

Pedal C Mezzo Forte User

Jan 24, 2005
    Bore size is the inside diameter of the tube. Where that's measured varies depending on who you ask, but it's often in the valve casing (the second valve slide, for example). I've seen references to the bore in the tuning slide too. How different bore sizes change the playing characteristics of the horn is open to debate. There are usually other variables between two horns. Bore size alone doesn't tell me much about a horn.

Bell "size" usually refers to the shape of the flair in the last few inches of the bell.

3. Bottoms94

Bottoms94 New Friend

Dec 14, 2009
    Chesterfield Va.
    thanks and what i ment was what tones do you get when you have different depths and widths.

4. dhbailey

dhbailey Piano User

Jul 28, 2009
    New Hampshire
    I was taught in repair school that the bore size is measured at the tuning slide and that supposedly "dual bore" instruments have one bore size for the upper tube on the tuning slide and a slightly larger one on the lower tube.