Best books for range studies?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Skelingtin, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Skelingtin

Skelingtin New Friend

Feb 5, 2013
    I'm only a freshman and I'm only on Arbans book. I have a good sound and technique, but my range is as stated in the book. Ultimately I've hit a plateau with my range. Like Arban says in his book I can play a Bb decently, but anything after isn't pretty. I'll peak at about a C or C# with a 3C. So what would be some good books to look into to increase/clarify my range? Suggestions are appreciated thanks.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    No books needed yet--there is plenty in Arban's to be learned as a Freshman. Page 12, #9 play it through as written, then repeat an octave higher. In addition, long tones starting say, at f on top of the staff:start p, crescendo to f, decrescendo back to p. Proceed by half-steps.

Have fun.

3. ultratrumpet

ultratrumpet Piano User

Jul 10, 2009
    Old Lyme, Connecticut
    " In my opinion, any exercise in the Arban Book can be transposed up half steps and made into a upper register study."
    Bill Vacchiano

Open the throat of your (Bach) 3C to a 24 drill.

Practice parts 1 & 2 of Claude Gordon's "Systematic Approach To Daily Practice"

Read Bill Knevitt's book, "The Truth About How To Play Double High C on Trumpet"
    Upper Register Development

Last edited: Feb 20, 2013
  4. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia