best fingering for A flats and A's

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by joshuasullins, Nov 11, 2005.

1. joshuasullins

joshuasullins Pianissimo User

Nov 9, 2005
    Silverdale, WA
    Manny,

I am new to trumpetmaster.com, and I have a question that has been bothering me since college. When I play a G above high C, it almost always locks for me. Sometimes if I have real swollen chops it skates around on me a bit, usually ending up an E or F# for some reason, but the more experience I get the less that is happening. Now, when I go to an A flat above that, it rarely locks. Usually it goes to the G, and when I go to an A natural, it NEVER locks. It ALWAYS goes between a Bflat and a shaky A. As soon as I hit a B above that, it locks again and I am in the clear. I am using natural fingerings, so two and three for A flat and one and two for A natural. I have tried using different valve combinations, but I think I lack practice with them. Do you have any recommendations? What do you use for fingerings in that register? Is there a good method book out there or someone you could recommend in the New England area to study with to help me with that?

Thank you very much for your time and music.

V/R
    Joshua Sullins
    US Navy Band

2. Manny Laureano

Manny Laureano Utimate User

Sep 29, 2004
    USA
    I don't have much to tell you because 2/3 works for me. I don't play alternate fingerings as there doesn't seem to be a need.

Anybody else?

ML

3. joshuasullins

Nov 9, 2005
    Silverdale, WA
    Thanks Manny. At least I know how you do it. I think I need practice. More practice. Could you recommend any exercises to get those notes to lock? It isn't getting there that is the problem for me, it is getting them to feel secure. They just like to skate around, almost as if you were preparing to do a shake or a lip trill, and you play sharp on the note so that you are very very close to the next partial.... that is what it feels like...

Thank you for your time!