Best Foreign Language to Learn?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ColinWhite, Dec 3, 2011.

1. ColinWhite

ColinWhite Pianissimo User

Oct 16, 2010
    East Lansing, MI
    Hi all,
    I really want to be a professional trumpet player, and I'm thinking that if I broadened my job search to the international level, I'd probably have better luck actually getting a job. What I want to know is: what non-English speaking countries do I have the best chance of finding work in and what are the best languages for me to learn to help me find a job? Side-note: I play classical music mostly, but I'm also studying jazz, so either option is available to me.

Thanks much.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Professional trumpet players in Germany get more money and respect than most in Europe, and they make great beer and cars. On the down-side, Bavarian women have the thickest calves in Europe (French have the skinniest). Southwest Germany is closer to France and there is plenty of Bach being played. Good food, too.

3. patkins

patkins Forte User

Nov 22, 2010
    Tuscaloosa, AL.
    German, hands down. BTW, since English was primarily derived from Germanic language it is not that diffficult.
    Also German blondes are beautiful and appreciate the art and the artist. Also Germans are known for their advancement
    in trumpets. Gemans like rotary trumpets so save up for one.

4. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    I would pick the Mediteranean romance languages -- Spanish, Italian, French --- of course -- that depends on where you want to live --- you could also try learning Aussie (which is a derivitive of REAL English) but is spoken by those down under, and pretty much those in the UK. ROFL ROFL ROFL

5. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Germans have more swear words and better.

6. NeonMarmot